Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Pranayama Breathing

When you go to yoga a lot, and your practice starts to look good (to you), you become somewhat complacent.  I know I did for a while and you tend to develop habits of doing a posture a certain way which prevent you from improving.

Recently, one of  our teachers must have picked up on that because in one lesson, she adjusted my Half Moon Pose (which I thought I was doing correctly), my Eagle (another one of my postures I was proud of), Standing Bow, Balancing Stick, Triangle, Standing Separate Leg Head to Knee Pose, Wind Removing Pose, Sit Up, Cobra and Stretching Pose.  Needless to say, I was feeling somewhat, hopeless… I mean, really??? Was I really doing ALL those postures wrong out of 26??? OMG! That’s like nearly 50% of the series!!

Also, I’m not used to getting that much attention in class let alone all in one class (usually Tony gets all the attention).  So, I thought about that class and told myself that it wasn’t that I was doing the postures “wrong”.  The adjustments were there to help me improve!  I went home and decided that I would apply all the adjustments she made to my poses each time I went to class.  It’s a lot to remember and I’m not sure I got them all so we’ll see how this improvement goes!  The result so far?  I’ve been constantly falling out, wobbly and the very opposite of poise and grace but I’m determined to continue until my muscles get used to this new way of doing things!  I guess sometimes you have to go back 2 steps, in order to move forward 5.

With this in mind, I thought it would be good to remember how far I’d come.  We’ve only been doing this for about 19-20 months and when we started I couldn’t even touch my toes! So as a reminder to us, we’ve started taking pictures of our postures.  By doing this we will:

a) be able to see how far we’ve improved

b) see how we can improve our postures further by looking at them from another angle!

I share them here because I know you’re curious too  😉

Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the left) vs where we are now (pictures on the right).

Pranayama (Standing Deep Breathing)

One thought on “Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Pranayama Breathing”

Leave a Reply

