Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Half Moon Pose

This is the first posture.  Good for warming up and I absolutely hated this one in the beginning.  Why?  Because my shoulders were very tight and holding my arms up above my head for long periods of time (a couple of minutes is a long time) hurt a lot and gave me lots of pins and needles in my arms and fingers.  In fact it still does it nowadays depending on how sedentary or stressed I’ve been.

Also the backward bend would send shooting sensations from my shoulders to the tip of my fingers, again, causing pins and needles and an extremely uncomfortable feeling in my shoulders.  It would hurt so much I would never want to go further back than just tilting my neck.

I see people who are just starting now come out of this one quite quickly and stand with their arms up, facing forwards and others just face forward with their arms down.  Yup!  I know EXACTLY what you’re going through!

Believe it or not, I absolutely love this posture now, even though it hurts like hell, I’ve learned to push through the pain because the feeling afterwards is magic! It’s like I’ve just woken up and stretched for the first time!

It’s not all roses though and it’s never been comfortable.  Even now I still bend my elbows for a second or two just to relieve the uncomfortable tightness in the arms and shoulders before I straighten them and push again.

Here’s our progress thus far.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the left) vs where we are now (pictures on the right).

Ardha-Chandrasana (Half Moon Pose)

Leave a Reply

