Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Hands to Feet Pose

This has to be the most uncomfortable posture when you’ve either eaten too much, drank too much, eaten too late (anywhere within 2 hours prior to the class) or if you just had a big meal and haven’t digested by the time you get here!

So many times I’ve done this and felt like throwing up because I’ve squashed everything in my gut while upside down.  The mantra “lock your knee, lock your knee, lock your knee” is overshadowed by the internal screaming, slightly panicked mantra of “don’t chuck up, hold it in, hold it in, hold it in!”

This is about the time when all the things you knew were bad for you that you ate anyway, raise their ugly heads!

However, when your stomach is nice and empty, this is a delicious posture!  I feel my head go heavy and hang towards the floor allowing my spine to stretch.  Sometimes I even hear the cracking as my vertebrae separate from one another.  By the time you come up, you’re just that little bit taller and I get that feeling of being “awake”!

I still haven’t been able to lock that knee but, I’m getting there.

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the left) vs where we are now (pictures on the right).

Pada-Hastasana (Hands to Feet Pose)

Leave a Reply

