Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Awkward Pose

This one I’ve always been able to do somewhat OK.  I was one of those kids who used to sit down with knees together and feet pointing behind me (like a squashed Japanese-style kneeling position) instead of sitting with my legs crossed in front of me like everyone else.  So squishing knees together isn’t so awkward for me.

The only thing that makes this pose awkward these days is that my inner thighs are a lot more padded now than they were when I was a kid so they sort of prevent me from getting my knees together 😉

This is a massive thigh burner if you do it properly and hold the posture for the whole time.  They say if your legs are shaking then you’re doing great!  Ha!  I say if your legs are shaking then you’d better work harder to strengthen those thigh muscles!!

I find myself staring at my thighs in the mirror and in my mind yelling “You’re weak!!!”  Yes, my legs still shake like a dog’s leg scratching its ear.  The whole time I’m just cringing and trying not to make pained facial expressions.

Last week, the teacher held us there for so long, it hurt so much I didn’t know if I could get back up.  It hurt so much, I wanted to swear at the teacher.  There’s a first time for everything but I held it in because if I said anything, chances are, he’d probably make my life hell for all future classes!

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the left) vs where we are now (pictures on the right).

Utkatasana (Awkward Pose)

Leave a Reply

