Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Eagle Pose

I’ve always liked this pose because it helped me open up my shoulders and stretch the muscles behind the scapula.  Aaaahhhhh heaven!

Nowadays I’m not enjoying it one bit!  This is because it’s been recently adjusted by a teacher and I can no longer hold this posture without wobbling, bobbing up and down like I’m on a pogo stick and being completely out of balance, when before I was perfectly still.

Basically, my knee of the leg I’m standing on is too far forward when the rest of my body is straight (the knee is going forward beyond the toes) and even though I find this comfortable, I’ve been advised that it’s not good for my knee in the long run because I’m putting too much pressure on it and although I don’t feel it now, I’ll feel it when I’m older.

So, the correction for me is to lean back… a lot farther back than I’m used to, my thigh parallel to the floor.  When I do this, my chest falls forward and my stomach rests on my thighs to stop me from falling backwards.  To combat this, I have to lift my chest up and back and as soon as I do this, my knee goes forward to help me balance… I then have to adjust again and spend the rest of the time trying not to fall over (which, I have now done many many times).  I also have to tilt my pelvis so my hips line up with each other.

So many things to remember while I try desperately not to flail about like a drowning rat.

The result so far is that I do not sit so low…  Hopefully I will find peace and serenity (and depth) in this posture again soon.

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the left) vs where we are now (pictures on the right).

Garurasana (Eagle Pose)

Leave a Reply

