The SuperFood Smoothie!

Now, if you are what you eat, then if you eat SuperFoods you must then be a Super Human!

Watch out world, through consumption of our SuperFood smoothie, we are slowly but surely going to turn into Superman and Superwoman!  We’ll be faster than a locomotive and able to leap tall buildings in a single bound!

What am I talking about you ask?  Well, all my life I’ve been interested in health.  OK, not all my life… just since 1996-97 when I kept on being sick and was introduced to a Naturopath as an alternative to a GP which was followed by a healing crisis and then an unbelievable recovery where I never got that sick again.

Many people have experienced or will experience this (some earlier than others) in their lives if they were ever like me and only ate Mars Bars with a glass of milk for breakfast, chips and gravy for lunch and 2 min noodles for dinner!  Needless to say I was very much lacking every form of nutrient I needed to stay alive and now that I recite that diet I’m wondering how I managed to even get through all my years of uni, let alone pass, whilst working 3 jobs, on that diet!

So it was around that time that I realised how important it was to start eating fruit and vegetables and drinking more water.  It seems pretty common sense but when you lack the energy to do anything but go to sleep when you get home and are on a tight  budget, making 2 min noodles seems like your only option and it’s a lot quicker than washing, chopping and cooking vegetables!

Fast forward many years into the future and I’ve improved a lot with my diet!! Along the way I was exposed to many interesting weird and wonderful “supplements”.  Some were natural, some extracts from plants and well, the rest were Vitamin tablets.

Over time I started thinking that vitamin tablets weren’t that great.  Nature is complex and vitamins don’t work in isolation, they need to be combined with other vitamins or fibre or sugars for optimum absorption but I had no idea how to combine these vitamin tablets. However fruits and vegetables naturally contain the complex combinations of nutrients that help them all work together and be absorbed easily by the body. Duh!

It seems that MANY people around the world have travelled the same path and come to the same conclusions and the search for all the natural, nutrient rich fruit and veg have led to what are now known as “SuperFoods” – plants and naturally existing organisms that can only be found in certain places around the world, which previous to now were only available to the people who were native to those areas.  Those plants contain more nutrients than the normal, every day fruits and vegetables we are used to in our supermarkets.  And now thanks to technology, those plants or fruits are dried, ground up into powders, transported and made available to countries around the world where they wouldn’t normally grow, whilst maintaining their high nutrient content.  Yay!

Now that SuperFoods are so easily accessible, Tony and I decided to check some out and try them.  So, I went online, ordered small amounts of different things and made this smoothie.  It has to be the healthiest smoothie I’ve ever made!!

It’s not often that you get to consume the entire periodic table before 10am… I figure if Tony and I have this smoothie once a day, we’ll be Superman and Superwoman in no time 😉

Here it is:

All ingredients before being blended
All ingredients before being blended
Our Superfood Smoothie
Our Superfood Smoothie

Ingredients:

Bananas (potassium, magnesium, phosphorus, Vit C)

Baby Spinach Leaves (manganese, iron, folate, Vit C, Vit E, Vit K)

Honey

Soy milk (potassium)

Baobab powder (Vit C, Thiamin, Potassium, Calcium)

Psyllium Husk Powder (extra fibre)

Spirulina Powder (protein, essential fatty acids, GLA fatty acid, lipids, nucleic acids, vitamin B complex, C, E, carotenoids, chlorophyll and phycocyanin)

Bee Pollen (full spectrum of vitamins, minerals, amino acids and enzymes, flavonoids, phytoeostrogens and antioxidants)

Wheatgrass Powder (Vit A, complete B-complex, B-16, Vit C, Vit E, Vit K, calcium, potassium, iron, magnesium, phosphorous, sodium, sulphur, cobalt, zinc, active enzymes and 17 forms of amino acids)

Leave a Reply

