Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Standing Separate Leg Stretching Pose

The asana with the longest name ever! And the one I hang out in the most…. shhhh don’t tell the teachers!!

Usually by the time we get to this posture my back is killing me and my lungs and heart are about to pop out of my chest and the only thing that’s keeping them in there is the fact that I’ve got my mouth closed.

So… if I can lift my arms and swan dive, I will and then I’ll hang out like that for a while with the sweat dripping from my back, to my neck, over my ears, to the forehead and down to the floor while I try to catch my breath.  It’s a funny sensation when your sweat travels in reverse!

In all honesty, I really need to push more on this one and I’ve been making a concerted effort to do so in recent classes… promise!

The teachers constantly catch me with my knees bent in this one… I seem to ease the pain in the back of my legs by bending my knees (which is not the best thing for my hamstrings) and I don’t even know I’m doing it! tsk tsk tsk!

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the left) vs where we are now (pictures on the right).

Dandayamana Bibhaktapada Paschimotthanasana (Separate Leg Stretching Pose)

Leave a Reply

