Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Locust Pose

This is my weakest pose by far.  Tony says I hang out in this one because whenever he sees me do this, my legs are always so low.

Not sure what happens but sometimes I can get this right and lift my legs.  This is only about 10% of the time.

Most times, I get a sharp pain in my stomach/chest (like an air socket’s about to bust inside) and I have to back off to reduce the pain, so my legs only get off the floor a few millimetres approx. 40% of the time.

Sometimes I can lift one side more than the other but since you have to keep your feet together, you can only go as high as the weakest side (20% of the time) and sometimes I’m trying but I just can’t get my legs to lift, they feel like lead weights and lift at such an angle that my stomach ends up taking my weight (instead of my shoulders) digging into my elbows which hurts and is extremely uncomfortable and it’s all over (30% of the time)!

So from the above you can gather that I make excuses in this pose 90% of the time.  Some I feel are valid especially when your insides are giving you sharp pains but I think the rest are just either I haven’t done the set up correctly or I’m not using the right muscles.

The thing with this one is once you’re in it, it’s hard to correct and adjust without coming out altogether and trying again but the pose is not held for long so you either get it right or you don’t get it done at all.  Well, this is my experience of it thus far.

Tony’s working hard on this one, he’s started to do push ups on the advice of one of the teachers, in order to build the arm strength to be able to carry his weight.   He now does push ups after every class.
I on the other hand don’t want to look like a beef cake and have not built any strength in my arms and shoulders and am now stuck in my progress.  The range of motion you see below as “before” and “after” is actually current depending on the day.  The lowest point is when I’m at my weakest and the highest point, when I’m at my strongest.  Most of the time, it’s somewhere in between and I’ve never done better than that photo.

The goal is actually for the legs to come up over the head and touch the floor hmmmmm……

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the top) vs where we are now (pictures on the bottom).

Salabhasana (Locust Pose)

Leave a Reply

