Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Half Tortoise Pose

OK don’t laugh.  I know the posture I started off doing looks funny and slightly rude but if I got embarrassed for looking so silly, I would have stopped trying and it wouldn’t have improved!  Luckily I couldn’t see myself or anybody that might have been staring and laughing at me!

I must remind myself of this the next time I go to an advanced class.  I went to one advanced class, the only one I’ve ever been to, and did a pose where people started giggling and one of the guys said “umm… Joy, you need to push your butt DOWN!  It’s sticking up!”  Believe me, I had no idea what I was doing and since I was upside down, I didn’t even know which way was up or down anymore!  So I just got out of the posture completely so as not to embarrass myself any further…. ahem….

So back to Half Tortoise, well, it has been and remains one of my favourites because it stretches the back.  Anything that stretches the back and reaches those muscles underneath the scapula gets a thumbs up from me (or in the case of my postures, a bums up 😉 Ha!)

Right now, I am working on getting the forehead to hit the floor before the baby fingers on the way down and the baby fingers coming off the floor before the forehead on the way up… and am finding this DIFFICULT!!

Squeeze your knees together they say, push down with your feet they say, suck your stomach in they say, keep your hips on your heels, lift your hands FIRST before lifting your head to come up… ARGH!! Too many things!!

So what do I do? I push down with my hands to get  back up which is absolutely nothing they said but if I didn’t, I’d probably still be stuck in that pose at the studio, right now….

Tony on the other hand, can pretty much get his elbows to touch above his head and folds down with ease.  Don’t you just want to hate people like that?  But I don’t, I just get impressed by him.

He’s lucky I’m easily impressed!

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the top) vs where we are now (pictures on the bottom).

Ardha Kurmasana (Half Tortoise Pose)

One thought on “Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Half Tortoise Pose”

Leave a Reply

