Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Fixed Firm Pose

Easy Peasy.  This is the part of the practice where I’m totally Yogi Bear having a pic-a-nic Boo Boo!  I sit on my mat, grab a drink of water and casually lie down and bask myself in the studio’s fluorescent light.  Ahhh this is the life….

Meanwhile there are people grimacing around me, faces red as they try to force their butts down to the floor.  Easy there partner!  I’m sure you haven’t spent a majority of your life sitting like this, as if it was normal, like some weird people (ie. me).  Nor are you a natural Gumby like Tony!  No!  You’re like most people, been running for exercise and jarring your joints for years and now they’re making you pay with pain! So now you have to cringe and yogi bear it as your knees and ankles scream at you while you watch what seems like everybody else in the room is having a picnic!  Mwaaah hahahahaha haaaaa!

I’m only joking of course.   I feel for you, I feel that pain in most other postures and like everything else, it will pass!!

Fortunately, both Tony and I have always been able to get into this posture so there isn’t much difference between before and after.   Sure there are times where this hurts but only slightly and in my 2 years of doing Bikram Yoga, I’ve only stayed sitting up in this posture once, in one set and that’s because I did hours of walking in tough shoes the day before.

When I say I’m “having a picnic”, what I mean is that I don’t feel I have to use large amounts of energy, endurance or stamina for this one and it doesn’t hurt so it really does feel like a rest.

In saying that, I will still lift my chest, I will walk my shoulders down towards my hips, I will squeeze my knees together and push my neck flat to the floor, just like they tell me to.  I’m hoping that it’s all making a difference because I don’t really feel anything in this posture.  Man, it’d sure be nice to have a few more of these painless postures!  Where are they?!!

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the top) vs where we are now (pictures on the bottom).

Supta Vajrasana (Fixed Firm Pose)

 

Leave a Reply

