Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Spine Twisting Pose

A few weeks ago I complained of pain that went from the butt to the knee.  Some lovely people told me this was my ITB…. Don’t worry, I didn’t know what that was either.. I had to look it up!  I have since figured out that doing this posture really stretches that out as long as you make sure you keep both buttocks on the floor!!

This is the last posture of the series and I used to love this one because it cracked  my spine.  I’d often hear all the vertebrae pop either from the base of the spine up, or somewhere between the scapula and my neck would crack.  As one teacher says “It’s just like having a chiropractic adjustment.”

These days, there’s no cracking which is a shame because I really did like that feeling!  It’s now more my buttocks that are being stretched out. Either way it’s a good pose!

Check out Tony, you’re supposed to see the profile of your face visible in the mirror because you’ve twisted around so far.  I thought I was doing ok until I saw these pictures!! Geez!!!  There’s so much  more twisting to go!

Here’s our progress.  Unfortunately we didn’t take pictures when we first started but following is an honest estimate of where we started (pictures on the left) vs where we are now (pictures on the right).  You even get a view from another angle!

Ardha Matsyendrasana (Spine Twisting Pose)

 

Leave a Reply

