Baked Camembert

And now for something not so dramatic.  (Unless you’ve got it in your head that we are completely vegan and strict about it then “OMG we ate cheese” could be the drama of all dramas!  Bless us, oh vegan virgins, for we have sinned.)

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a blog on food and that’s because we  have been doing the whole juicing and vegan challenge thing (and all the juices look the same… boring!) but at least a month has passed since then so we’ve started to sneak in some not so vegan, not quite juice, meals!  Oh wouldn’t our foodie friends and family  be so proud!

We do like cheese and after one of our 3.5 hours of yoga the other week, Tony started chanting “I need my carbs, I need my carbs, I need more calories, I need my carbs….”   So to satiate his cravings, we bought and ate bread and cheese.

We didn’t buy the normal sized ones though, we bought mini sized versions of the regulars and shared them between us.

Our regulars are:  Camembert, Brie, Cheddar and Stilton.

This time, we bought Camembert (made in France), Brie (made in France) and Feta (made in Greece) 🙂

I didn’t put the country names to specify the origin of the type of cheese.  The thing with Europe is that you can actually choose British Brie (Brie made in the UK) vs French Brie (Brie made in France).  So, we chose cheeses that were actually made in the countries who invented those cheeses for authenticity 🙂

We had no idea what not eating cheese for a long time would do.  We thought we wouldn’t like them much but totally the opposite happened.  We consumed all 3 cheeses in one day and an entire loaf of sourdough bread plus 2 petite baguettes too.

Strangely, our bodies were able to cope with and digest all the bread and cheese much more easily than before and it didn’t affect our practice the next day either!

I didn’t take a picture of the feta which we ate with olives and cucumbers because we were so hungry that we ate it all before I remembered to.

The Brie we just ate with slices of sourdough loaf.

The Camembert however was baked and it was delicious!

Baked Camembert

Here’s how you make one yourself:

  • Cut the Camembert in half and put the rind sides back into their original wooden container (lid and base) or onto an oven proof serving dish.
  • Turn the oven on to about 200’C
  • Put the Camembert onto the middle rack of the oven.  You can leave it just like that or you can sprinkle some pine nuts, thyme, cracked pepper, a little bit of salt or rosemary on top
  • Bake in the oven until the cheese is melted and pine nuts are toasted.  The camembert will hold its shape and the melted cheese will stay put inside the rind so just check the colour of the pine nuts (slightly golden) and notice the consistency of the cheese change to runny/melted and then pull it out of the oven.
  • Stir in some cranberry jelly (or honey or dried fruit if you want some sweetness) being careful not to spill the cheese over the rind.
  • Drizzle with olive oil and serve with some crusty bread for dunking.

On one of my visits to Paris, I ordered a Camembert (my very first) not realising they were going to give me the ENTIRE THING for entree.  Considering it was entree I just assumed that it would be a small piece with bread….   I was so full I could barely eat my main.  My friend told me she was surprised I ordered it because usually it’s something you order to share between 4 people….  She thought I was hungry, not realising I was simply ignorant about French food.

It’s like the time I visited my first Japanese restaurant and almost ate an entire spoonful of wasabi but that’s another story!

We hope you enjoy your Camembert 🙂

2 thoughts on “Baked Camembert”

Leave a Reply

