Bikram Yoga Posture Progress Pictures: Pranayama Breathing

You can see the original blog here.

This is 6 months on.  Thought I was improving until I saw the pictures!

Now wondering how people get their elbows so close to their heads that they’ve made a box frame around their faces, with their elbows pointing directly upwards.  All we seem to be getting on an inhale is a V shape.  Any suggestions for improvement welcome!

Tony seems to have mastered “see your rib cage in the mirror”.  I’m still working on it.  I know part of it has something to do with wearing a crop top instead of a full body swimsuit.  The other part has to do with sucking in that stomach!  So like I said, I’m still working on it!

On the exhale, you have to drop your head back, look as far back as you can, push your chin back but not so far back that you’re curving your back.  “Back back back..”  Is that all you heard?  I’m sorry I didn’t hear anything apart from the “H. A.  Ha sound” that I’m supposed to be making.  😉

Improvements here also look minimal though it’s hard to tell because we haven’t taken the pictures at the same angle.   Typical!

So, a couple of things here… Firstly, they say you have to get even your pinkie fingers under your chin.  Check out how far ours stick out!!!  I’m thinking, unless I choke myself or get a longer chin, I’m not going to be able to fit those pinkies!  Or… is there something else we should be doing?

The other thing is it’s hard to actually tell if you’ve gone back too far.   I guess it’s nice to know you can go back too far… especially when before, you could barely go back at all but now you’ve got a new problem.  How far back is just far enough without being too far?  hmmmmm!!!

Leave a Reply

